Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Who Is Your Philanthropist Of The Year?


By the McPherson County Community Foundation


McPHERSON COUNTY, Kan. — The McPherson County Community Foundation (MCCF) will be accepting nominations for their Philanthropist of the Year and Organization of the Year awards now through Friday, Oct. 6.

The Philanthropist of the Year award was originally established by the Foundation in 2005 with the intention of celebrating those who have done a great service to their community. The first recipient of the award was Keith Janzen, who is an avid supporter of the McPherson County Family YMCA. In 2021 a change to the format was made to include the Organization of the Year Award.

Each award will be presented at a celebration at the McPherson Opera House on Tuesday, Nov. 14. A $1,000 donation will be made in the winner’s name to the organization of their choice.

Nominations for Philanthropist of the Year must include name, contact information and an answer to the question “What has your nominee done that fits the definition of Philanthropy?”.

For reference the definition of philanthropy: “goodwill to fellow members of the human race” or “an act or gift done or made for humanitarian purposes” or “an organization distributing or supported by funds set aside for humanitarian purposes.

“Think of the neighbor, your co-worker, friend, family member who works to help others. They are an inspiration to us, and we want to recognize them for being the example to do our best,” Becky Goss, President and CEO of MCCF said, “This award exists to celebrate those who have done so much for our communities.”

Just last year Susan Henson-Meng received the award for her volunteer hours with APT 6, a retail and consignment store in McPherson. Henson-Meng began volunteering for APT 6 in the spring of 2021 working through all areas of the shop. In Jan. of 2022 Henson-Meng volunteered to manage the shop. Her biggest contribution has been the changes she’s made to the layout of the shop.

Steps to End Poverty McPherson County was the first recipient of Organization of the Year in 2022. STEPMC is a local nonprofit that has created programing and provides structure to community members that have found themselves in poverty.

Nominations for Organization of the Year must be a nonprofit operating within McPherson County and can be submitted with the same details as Philanthropist of the Year.

Community members all over McPherson County are encouraged to submit their nominations to [email protected] or contact the Foundation at 620-245-9070 for more information.

Last five winners of the Philanthropist of the Year award:

2022 – Susan Henson-Meng, APT 6

2021 – Jeff and Danielle Black, MP Naz

2019 – Gloria Schroeder, WACCC

2018 – Gary and Rosemary Fisher, Moundridge Historical Association

2017 – David J. Nutt, Lindsborg/DN Fund