Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Two of Four Incumbent Members of Lyons City Council Not Seeking Re-Election


By Lucky Kidd


LYONS, Kan. — There will be at least two new members on the Lyons City Council come January. Two of the four incumbent members of the Council told Ad Astra News Monday they did not intend to seek re-election this year.

Ward 1 Council member Leanna Payne, the senior member of the Council in point of service, said she will step down at the end of her current term, as will Ward 2 member Doug Higgins. Under Lyons’ form of government, two members are elected from each of four wards.

Of the other two members up for election this year, Ward 4 incumbent Debbie Metzger has filed for re- election, while Ward 2 incumbent Fred Long said he has not decided on whether he will seek another term. Mayor Dustin Schultz also has not decided on whether he will run again.

Ward 1 is generally the southwest part of Lyons, bounded on the north by Lincoln from East Avenue to Clark Avenue and south of Noble West of Clark Avenue. The eastern boundary is East Avenue from Lincoln to Truesdell, then east to Grand and south to the city limits except for the area bounded by Grant, Jay, Terran and Tobias Drive that is in Ward 4.

Ward 2 includes the area to the north of the Ward 1 boundary and West of East Avenue to 5th Street and west of Grand north of 5th.

The filing deadline for all city offices up for election this year is June 3, at 12 p.m. (noon). The deadline is extended by two days this year since the usual June 1st date falls on a Saturday.