Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Steffen Won’t Seek Re-Election to Kansas Senate, Two File for his Seat


By Lucky Kidd


There will be a contested race for the Republican nomination for Kansas Senate in the 34th District in 2024. This will be an open seat as one of the candidates filing says incumbent. Mark Steffen of Hutchinson is not seeking re-election.

Hutchinson businessman Bob Fee announced Friday he has filed with the Kansas Secretary of State for the position now held by Senator Mark Steffen, one day after State Representative Michel Murphy of Sylvia filed.

In a social media posting Murphy said he was told by Steffen he will not be seeking re-election. Murphy said in announcing his filing “Our district deserves solid Christian conservative representation in Topeka,” adding he has delivered that as a representative and will in the Senate.

Fee, President of Fee Insurance Group in Hutchinson and immediate past chairman of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America, said in a statement announcing his candidacy “Kansas faces many challenges and yet, unfortunately too often political games get in the way of conservative results.” Fee also named local Republican activist Allison Reed as his campaign treasurer.

With redistricting, the 34th district will include all of Reno, Kingman and Barber counties.

Two other area Kansas House members have also announced they will run for State Senate including Representative Stephen Owens of Hesston, who has filed for the 31st district now represented by Senator Carolyn McGinn of Sedgwick which will include all of Harvey County and northern portions of Sedgwick County.

Representative Tory Marie Blew of Great Bend has filed for Senate District 33, which with redistricting will include Barton, Rice, Stafford, Pratt, Rush, Pawnee, Edwards, Kiowa, Comanche and Ness Counties. Most of that area is currently represented by Senator Alicia Straub of Ellinwood.

There have been two House filings so far. Mike King of Hesston has filed for the 74th House District position now held by Owens, which with redistricting will take in western and northern Harvey County, southeast McPherson County including Canton and Moundridge, and southwest Marion County including Hillsboro, Goessel and Peabody.

Representative Brett Fairchild of St. John has filed for re-election in the 113th district, which includes all of Rice, Rush and Stafford Counties and parts of Pawnee and Barton Counties