Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

KDHE Awards 17 Chronic Disease Risk Reduction Community Grantees


By the Kansas Department of Health and Environment


TOPEKA, Kan. — The Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s (KDHE) Community Health Promotion program is pleased to announce that the recipients of this year’s Chronic Disease Risk Reduction (CDRR) Community grant. In total, the State Fiscal Year 2024 CDRR program covers: 17 grantees, 30 counties and 1,993,817 Kansans (67.8 percent of the total Kansas population).

The CDRR Community Grant Program provides funding, training and technical assistance to communities to address chronic disease risk reduction through evidence-based strategies that impact tobacco use, physical activity and nutrition. Strategies include reducing secondhand smoke exposure, preventing youth from using tobacco, promoting tobacco treatment and the Kansas Tobacco Quitline, increasing physical activity, and improving community nutrition.

“This program empowers local communities to take significant steps toward reducing chronic disease and improving overall health,” KDHE Section Director for Community Health Promotion Mende Barnett said. “We are excited to support and collaborate with our grantees to achieve these important health goals across Kansas.”

The 2025 CDRR Grantees and the counties they cover include:

  • Barton County Health Department (Barton County, Pawnee, Rice and Stafford counties).
  • Cherokee County Health Department (Cherokee county).
  • Crawford County Health Department (Crawford county).
  • United Way of the Flint Hills (Lyon county).
  • Edwards County Economic Development (Edwards and Hodgeman counties).
  • Finney County Community Health Coalition (Finney, Morton, Scott, Stanton counties).
  • Harvey County Health Department (Harvey county).
  • Johnson County Department of Health and Environment (Johnson county).
  • Medical Society of Sedgwick County (Sedgwick county).
  • Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department (Douglas county).
  • Marion County Health Department (Marion county).
  • Mitchell County Regional Medical Foundation (Mitchell, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Ottawa, Republic and Smith counties).
  • Reno County Health Department (Reno county).
  • Tammy Walker Cancer Center (Saline county).
  • Shawnee County Health Agency (Shawnee county).
  • Sheridan County Health Department (Sheridan county).
  • Unified Government of Wyandotte (Wyandotte county).

Learn more about the CDRR Community Grant Program at