Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Graduates 313th Basic Training Class


By Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (photo by Jeff Tuttle)


Nineteen new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Aug. 18, 2023 in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior Rob McClarty was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Kansas Senate President Ty Masterson.

President Masterson was quick to express his gratitude to the graduates. “I don’t find it difficult to say ‘thank you’ to people I admire. First, congratulations and thank you. You are about to get into an area where the job can be thankless even through every Kansan should be thankful for what you do.” Masterson had one ask of the graduating class, and that was to serve with humility. “Humility is such a misunderstood term in today’s society. Humility is strength under control. It’s authority without abuse. It’s power without having to abuse it.”

Under the authority of Executive Director Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas Law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.


The following are the graduates of the 313th basic training class:

*Award recipient

Tiffani  Adams – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Lucas Beggs – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Cade Cappel – Oberlin Police Department

Amber Chrismon – Woodson County Sheriff’s Office

Jorge Esparza – Sherman County Sheriff’s Office

Addisyn Guifoyle – Wichita State University Police Department

Michael Hammer – Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
*Honors, Fitness

Connor Hasz – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Patrick Jennings – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Alexander Lake – Arcadia Police Department

Adam Lehmann – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Russell McKnight – St. George Police Department

Matthew Mitchell – Elwood Police Department

Shequita O’Neal – Pittsburg Police Department

Justin Post – Linn County Sheriff’s Office

Andres Rios – Ness County Sheriff’s Office

Brandon Smith – Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Kyle Spencer – Hutchinson Police Department

Joshua Sprigler – Emporia State University Police Department