Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Kansas 4-H Names State Project Award Winners


By Maria Childs, K-State Research and Extension


MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas 4-H Youth Development program has recognized more than two dozen youth as state project award winners.

Sarah Maass, state leader for the Kansas 4-H program, said “being a state project winner indicates prior excellence and points to (youth’s) future potential.”

“Youth must display leadership skills and hearts for service by organizing events like community service projects, project meetings to share their expertise with younger 4-H members, and other unique efforts,” Maass said.

One state winner is selected yearly from the senior division (ages 14-18) in 27 project categories. Kansas 4-H youth submit a project report form, a summary of their work in a certain project.

Maass notes that in addition to learning new project skills, these youth must also demonstrate growth and strength in leadership, organization, civic engagement, and above all, communication within the project.


This year’s project winners are: 

Beef – Dustin Denton, Marshall County.

Civic Engagement – Clara Johnson, Meadowlark District – Jefferson County.

Clothing and Textiles – Elizabeth “Ellie” Seeger, McPherson County.

Communications – Meredith Burgess, Shawnee County.

Dairy – Trena Garcia, Butler County.

Dog Care and Training – Christopher Mork, Sedgwick County.

Entomology – MacKenzie Krueger, Coffey County.

Fiber Arts – Renatta Heintz, Chisholm Trail District – Dickinson County.

Foods and Nutrition – Kylee Barlett, Butler County.

Geology – Amber Kolle, River Valley District – Washington County.

Horse – Clayton Carlgren, River Valley District – Republic County.

Leadership – Brennan Aldridge, Sunflower District – Republic County.

Meat Goats – Channing Dillinger, Wild West District – Stevens County.

Performing Arts – Brynna Anderson, Central Kansas District – Saline County.

Pets – Gavin Shupe, Leavenworth County.

Photography – Johanna Walker, Wildcat District – Crawford County.

Plant Science – Ian Dunn, 21 Central District – Stafford County.

Poultry – Aubrey Stahlman, River Valley District – Cloud County.

Rabbits – Eve Rider, Walnut Creek District – Ness County.

Self-Determined – Daniel Rausch, Coffey County.

Sheep – Reygan Schrock, Central Kansas District – Saline County.

Shooting Sports – Trenton Hays, Midway District – Ellsworth County.

STEM – Ava Karcher, Lyon County.

Swine – Kyser Nemecek, Southwind District – Allen County.

Visual Arts – Kyla Lankton, Coffey County.

Wildlife – Joseph Westerman, McPherson County.

Wood Science – Zachary Piroutek, River Valley District – Republic County.


Award winners were recognized during the Emerald Circle Banquet, hosted each year by the Kansas 4-H Foundation. Officials say project report forms progress through county, regional and statewide evaluations before the state winner in each project area is named.

A video of the annual banquet is available online at

State 4-H project award winners are also eligible to attend the National 4-H Congress in Atlanta, Georgia, in November.

More information about opportunities available through the Kansas 4-H Youth Development program is available online.