Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Barton Community College Students Honored for Academic Achievements, Evans Named Coca-Cola Scholar


By Maggie Harris, Barton Community College


GREAT BEND, Kan. — Six students from Barton Community College in the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society were recognized as members of the PTK All-State Academic team during an award luncheon on April 12 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Junction City. 

Barton’s PTK honorees were Ce’Ara Evans of Kansas City and Sarah Showers of Lansing, from the Fort Leavenworth campus, Breyanna Baize of Fort Riley from the Fort Riley campus, Rachel Sims of Salina from the Barton County campus, and Brooke McReynolds and Heather Ramirez, both of Great Bend, who represented the Barton County campus and Barton Online respectively.

PTK is the international honor society for two-year colleges and symbolizes excellence in higher education.  Students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher are invited to join PTK. The PTK group at Barton spends significant time sponsoring local events and volunteering to support others’ events.

Students must go through a selection process to join PTK, and their applications are reviewed by an anonymous panel on their respective campuses. All six students will have a chance to be named to PTK’s All-USA Academic Team, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

Evans was named a 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar and was chosen to address the audience during the celebration. She credits PTK for helping her push herself to accomplish more during her time at Barton.

“PTK recognized my academic endeavors, brilliance, and persistence to achieve and excel in the world of academics and helped me branch out to bigger and greater things,” she said. “Joining PTK gave me the fellowship, community, and support to encourage me on my journey of learning.”

As part of her recognition as a Coca-Cola scholar, she will receive a $1,000 scholarship for her future academic journey toward becoming a librarian at the University of Fort Hare in South Africa.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each scholar also receives a commemorative medallion. Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service