Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Young to be Inducted into NJCAA Coaches Association Hall of Fame


By Hutchinson CC Sports Information


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – One night before his team begins its quest for a third-straight national championship, Hutchinson Community College men’s golf coach Chris Young will be inducted into the NJCAA Division I Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

The NJCAA, on Monday, announced the 2023 Hall of Fame Class on Monday. Young and former Indian Hills player Brad Smith make up the 2023 induction class.

Young and Smith will be enshrined next Monday, May 15 at the 2023 NJCAA Division I Championship in Newton.

Young has led the Hutchinson men’s golf program for 23 seasons. His 2021 and 2022 teams won back-to-back national championships and the 2023 Blue Dragons enter next week’s national championship ranked No. 1 in all three major polls.

Through his first 23 seasons with the Blue Dragons, Young’s accomplishments include:
+ 22 consecutive NJCAA Tournament appearances;
+ 11 Jayhawk Conference team championships (2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023);
+ 9 Region VI team championships (2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2019, 2021, 2022);
+ 3 District III team championship (2007, 2009, 2021);
+ 2 NJCAA National Championships;
+ 1 NJCAA Individual National Champion;
+ 2 NJCAA Individual National Runners-Up;
+ 1 Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year winner;
+ 3 Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year finalist;
+ 2 Phil Mickelson National Outstanding Freshman Award winners;
+ 3 Phil Mickelson National Freshman of the Year finalists;
+ 15 NJCAA All-Americans;
+ 13 PING/NJCAA All-Americans;
+ 10 Jayhawk Conference individual league champions;
+ 8 Region VI individual champions;
+ 4 District III individual champion;
+ 10 NJCAA Tournament Top 10 national placings.

This past December, Young was enshrined to the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame.

Young has been named the Delnor Poss NJCAA Division I National Tournament Coach of the Year twice and the Dave Williams/Golf Coaches Association of America NJCAA Division I National Coach of the Year once.