Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Ted Power Named to Kansas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023


MANHATTAN, Kan. ( – In an announcement by the State of Kansas Sports Hall of Fame, former K-State baseball standout Ted Power has been selected as a member of the 59th Anniversary Class of 2023. The induction class of 2023 will be enshrined in ceremonies on Sunday, October 1 at Kansas Star Casino.

The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame now includes 56 representatives with ties to K-State, while the twelve-member 2023 induction class raises the total number of Kansas Sports Hall of Fame inductees to 329.

Ted Power, a three-time letter winner for the Wildcats from 1974-1976, was named to the K-State baseball All-Century Team in 2000. Power set a single-game record with 19 strikeouts against Wayne State on March 18, 1976 – a record that stands today – and led the team with a 2.34 ERA that season.

A product of Abilene, Kansas, Power was the only Wildcat taken in the 1976 MLB Draft as he was selected in the fifth round by the Los Angeles Dodgers. He went on to play with eight professional teams during his 13-year career.

In 1984, he led the National League with 78 appearances while registering a career-high 27 saves the following season. Power finished his career 68-69 with a 4.00 ERA as he accumulated 701 strikeouts and 70 saves over 564 games.

Power was promoted in 2016 as a bullpen coach with Cincinnati after 11 seasons as a pitching coach with the Triple-A Louisville Bats.

Power is joined in the induction Class of 2023 by Wichita native and All-American softball player at the University of Kansas, Jill Larson Bradney; All-American decathlete and three-time Division II Track And Field Coach Of The Year at Pittsburg State University, Russ Jewett from Olathe; three-time All-Missouri Valley Conference basketball selection and honorable mention All-American from Wichita State University, Lynbert “Cheese” Johnson; Negro Leagues Baseball Triple Crown hitter Oscar “Heavy” Johnson from Atchison; long-time Wichita State baseball assistant coach and athletic department official, Brent Kemnitz; eight-time All-American selection in cross country and track at Pittsburg State, Christie Allen Logue from Altamont; professional golfer and two-time member of the United States Ryder Cup team, Harold “Jug” Mcspadden from Monticello; fourteen year Major League Baseball player Ray Mueller from Pittsburg; K-State baseball player and thirteen year Major League Baseball veteran Ted Power from Abilene; seventeen-time professional soccer All-Star selection from the Wichita Wings, Kim Røentved; 1984 honorable mention All-American basketball selection and two-time all-conference selection Ricky Ross from Wichita; two-time Missouri Valley Conference Volleyball Player Of The Year and 2007 All-American selection Sara Lungren Walkup from Caldwell.

Online sales for 2023 Induction Ceremony tickets are now available at For ticket packages and sponsorship opportunities, please call 316-262-2038.