Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Swedes Tennis Sweeps Team Champion of Character Awards


By: Bethany College Athletics


WICHITA, Kan. ( — The Bethany College Men’s and Women’s Tennis teams have been awarded the KCAC Champions of Character Team of the Year honor for their respective sports in the 2022-23 season. Champions of Character award winners from each institution have also been chosen. The KCAC Team of Character and Champions of Character awards are sponsored by IMA Financial Group and Dissinger Reed, and both were based on the NAIA Champions of Character award. A team is recognized in each sport, as voted on by their peer coaches.

The Swedes participated in a variety of service projects on their campus and in their community, including, but not limited to:

  • Leading multiple youth tennis clinics.
  • Cleaned up some of the Lindsborg community tennis courts.
  • Helped with landscaping at a local high school.
  • Exhibit transportation and removal at a local museum.



Committed to advancing character-driven athletics, the NAIA Champions of Character program aims to inspire student-athletes, coaches, officials, and fans to hold high standards and embody what character truly means in a competitive arena. By keeping the five core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership at the heart of the athletics experience, the Champions of Character program empowers participants to change the culture of sport.

The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champions of Character awards are presented by IMA Financial Group and Dissinger Reed, and are awarded to the student-athletes and team who best represent the mission of the Champions of Character Program.

Your 2023 Men’s Tennis Champions of Character Student-Athletes are:

Franco Hernandez ColmanBethany CollegeJr.
San Jose de Mayo, Uruguay
James MenardBethel CollegeJr.Orange, Texas
Jarrett TeelEvangel UniversityJr.Forsyth, Mo.
Ethan ChouinardFriends UniversityJr.Wichita, Kan.
Bryce WareKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.Amarillo, Texas
Michael BeltranMcPherson CollegeJr.Madrid, Spain
Clement Martin-DardaineOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.
Jaunay-Clan, France
Jhoel QuinonezOttawa UniversityJr.Calama, Chile
Benjamin ErdmannSouthwestern CollegeSr.Ennis, Texas
Hunter LeeSterling CollegeSr.Abilene, Texas
Jean Paul FortTabor CollegeSr.Lima, Peru
Jackson ContrucciUniversity of Saint MaryFr.Stillwell, Kan.

Your 2023 Women’s Tennis Champions of Character Student-Athletes are:

Piper MarquezBethany CollegeSo.
Independence, Kan.
Jenna MahoneyBethel CollegeSo.
Gardner, Kansas
Abigail ChaneyEvangel UniversityJr.
Jefferson City, Mo.
Victoria OshakuadeFriends UniversitySr.Wichita, Kan.
Eliza CampKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.Winfield, Kan.
Grace MaxeyMcPherson CollegeSr.Damascus, Ore.
Cori CampbellOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.
Colorado Springs, Colo.
Priyanshi SharmaOttawa UniversityJr.
Almedabad, Guharat, India
Jasmin HauskaSouthwestern CollegeSr.
Taufkirchen, Germany
Aubrey AndersonSterling CollegeJr.Sterling, Kan.
Bethany YutzyTabor CollegeJr.Buhler, Kan.