Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Six 2022 State Champions Earn Scholar’s Bowl Title Defenses at Regionals


( – No school in the state has won more Scholar’s Bowl state championships than Wichita Collegiate, which captured its 18th title overall with its four straight Class 3A crown a year ago.

The Spartans will get a chance to add to that legacy on Feb. 11 in Russell, earning a return trip to state after finishing first at Thursday’s Class 3A regional they hosted. Collegiate will be going for its seventh straight championship overall, winning back-to-back titles in Class 4A in 2017 and 2018 before sweeping 3A titles the past four seasons.

Collegiate will be one of six schools looking to repeat as state champions from a year ago, three of whom emerged as regional champion on Thursday. Defending 2A champion Sacred Heart won its regional at Inman and 1A Division I champion Hodgeman County took the title at its regoinal at Montezuma.

Also back to defend state titles from a year ago are defending champions Blue Valley North (6A), Andover Central (5A) and Rock Creek (4A).

Class 1A Division II will be the lone classification to crown a new champion with 2022 champion Tipton unable to advance to state this year.

A total of 72 teams have qualified for this year’s state championships — 8 each in Class 6A, 5A and 4A and 12 each in 3A, 2A, 1A Division I and 1A Division II.

Regional champions were:

6A — Washburn Rural, Wichita East

5A — Lansing, Salina Central

4A — Hugoton, Paola

3A — Caney Valley, Ellsworth, Maur Hill, Wichita Collegiate

2A — Jefferson County North, Remington, Sacred Heart, TMP-Marian

1A Division I — Hodgeman County, Osborne, Rock Hills, Wichita Central Christian

1A Division II — Argonia, Beloit-St. John’s, Otis-Bison, Rolla

This year’s state competitions will be held at Washburn Rural (6A), De Soto (5A), Circle (4A), Russell (3A), WaKeeney-Trego (2A), Faifield (1A I) and Hutchinson Central Christian (1A II).

“For more articles on high school activities check out presented by Capitol Federal.”