Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Men’s Basketball Bulldogs Take Care of Business on Senior Night


McPHERSON, Kan. ( — The McPherson College Bulldogs snapped a three-game skid with a 77-58 win over the Tabor College Bluejays Saturday night (Feb. 24) inside the Sport Center. The win avenges an overtime loss to the Bluejays back in January.


Three Bulldogs scored in double figures led by Jerome Mabry with 17 points and eight rebounds.  Collin Storr added 15 points and eleven rebounds, while Antonio Watson finished with ten points.

MC shot 36.3 percent from the field, but were just 4-for-29 from the three point line. The Bulldogs did most of their damage inside, scoring 50 points in the paint.

Two of the Bulldogs four triples came from Evan McGoldrick who finished with a career-high eight points. Mabry and Kamal Kennedy each knocked down on three.

The Bulldogs pulled down a season-high 23 offensive rebounds which led to 18 second chance points. Mabry and Storr each finished with five offensive rebounds.

Ball security was another key factor for the Bulldogs, finishing with a season-low three turnovers.

Tabor led 5-4 early on, but from there it was all Bulldogs, using a 13-4 run over the next six minutes to grab a 23-12 lead midway through the opening half. MC would push that lead to as many as 17 in the first frame before taking a 38-25 advantage into halftime.

The Bluejays cut the lead to 42-32 early in the second half, but another 15-4 run by MC put them on top 59-36 with 11 minutes to play. From there, the Bulldogs were able to cruise to the victory.

Tabor shot 31.4 percent from the field and 5-for-20 from beyond the arc. The Bluejays scored 21 points at the charity stripe and 20 points in the paint.

Jack Voth led the Bluejays with 14 points, while Jaiden Miller added 12 points. Keynon Holcombe grabbed 11 rebounds.

The Bulldogs secured the sixth-seed in the KCAC postseason tournament, and will take on third-seeded Southwestern College Thursday (Feb. 29). The teams split the regular season series, with each team winning on their home floor. Tipoff is slated for 7:00 p.m.