Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Lady Warrior Softball Named KCAC Team of Character


By: Sterling College Athletics


WICHITA, Kan. ( — The Sterling College softball team has been awarded the KCAC Champions of Character Team of the Year honor for their sport in the 2022-23 season. Champions of Character award winners from each institution have also been chosen. The KCAC Team of Character and Champions of Character awards are sponsored by IMA Financial Group and Dissinger Reed, and both were based on the NAIA Champions of Character award. A team is recognized in each sport, as voted on by their peer coaches.

The Warriors participated in a variety of service projects in their community, including, but not limited to:

  • Painting fire hydrants in the community.
  • Taking part in a community clean-up day.
  • Partnering with the Warrior Women Leadership Coalition on several service projects in the community.

Committed to advancing character-driven athletics, the NAIA Champions of Character program aims to inspire student-athletes, coaches, officials, and fans to hold high standards and embody what character truly means in a competitive arena. By keeping the five core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership at the heart of the athletics experience, the Champions of Character program empowers participants to change the culture of sport.

The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champions of Character awards are presented by IMA Financial Group and Dissinger Reed, and are awarded to the student-athletes and team who best represent the mission of the Champions of Character Program.

Your 2023 Softball Champions of Character Student-Athletes are:

Talley ColeAvila UniversitySr.Wichita, Kan.
Danielle WoolseyBethany CollegeSr.Commerce City, Colo.
Catherine CarterBethel CollegeSr.Denton, Texas
Aleigha GaleFriends UniversityJr.Winfield, Kan.
Jewell HenryKansas Wesleyan UniversitySr.Kingston, Okla.
Amanda AmbrosyMcPherson CollegeSr.Haslet, Texas
Ashleigh McCauseOklahoma Wesleyan UniversityJr.Sperry, Okla.
Daisi SalasOttawa UniversityJr.San Antonio, Texas
Jecca AutrySouthwestern CollegeSr.Whitesboro, Texas
Sadie WallerSterling CollegeFr.Independence, Mo.
Laura SavageTabor CollegeSo.Marian, Kan.
Victoria GutierrezUniversity of Saint MarySr.Topeka, Kan.
Skylar GrippYork UniversityJr.Kansas City, Kan.