Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Kansas’ 2022-23 Big 12 Athlete of the Year Nominees


Courtesy of the Big 12 Conference



( – The 2022-23 Big 12 Athlete of the Year nominees will be featured each day at 10 a.m. CT and 2 p.m. CT, listed in alphabetical order by school through Friday, July 28.

Each institution nominated one male and one female athlete of any classification that competed for their institution during the school year. Student-athletes were required to be in good academic standing and had to be from a league-sponsored sport.

The 10 schools that competed during the 2022-23 academic year are eligible.

The winners will be announced Monday, July 31. Stay tuned to and the league’s social media platforms to see the rest of the candidates.

This morning’s featured candidates are Kansas’ Jalen Wilson and Rylee Anderson.

Kansas Male Athlete of the Year Candidate
Jalen Wilson, Basketball, Forward
RS-Jr., Denton, Texas

  • Captured the Julius Erving Award while being named a consensus 2022-23 All-America First Team member. He was one of four Naismith Trophy finalists and one of five Wooden Award finalists.
  • A unanimous selection as the 2022-23 Big 12 Player of the Year and to the All-Big 12 First Team. He led the Big 12 in scoring (20.1 ppg), rebounding (8.3 rpg) and double doubles (12).
  • Led Kansas to its 17th Big 12 and NCAA-record 64th all-time conference regular season title.
  • Graduated with a Communications Studies degree.
  • Was the mentor for Kansas’ TEAM Impact Player in 2022-23 and conducted youth basketball camps in the Lawrence/Kansas City area and in his hometown of Denton, Texas.

Kansas Female Athlete of the Year Candidate
Rylee Anderson, Track and Field, High Jumper
So., Longmont, Colo.

  • Indoor First Team All-American (NCAA runner-up in the Women’s High Jump with a 1.88m clearance) and Outdoor Second Team All-American (12th place at the 2023 Outdoor National Championships).
  • Back-to-Back Big 12 champion, winning both the indoor and outdoor women’s high jump title this season.
  • Placed either first or second in every regular-season indoor and outdoor meet she competed in.
  • Named the Big 12 Athlete of the Week April 12.
  • The 2023 Robert E. Frederick Scholar Athlete of the Year and a 2023 CSC Academic All-District selection.

Previously Announced Nominees
Baylor – Adam Flagler and Dominika Silvestri
Iowa State – David Carr and Ashley Joens