Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Dragons, Lindstrom Capture 2023 KJCCC Championships


Hutchinson CC Sports Information


NEWTON, Kan. ( – The Hutchinson Community College men’s golf team captured its fourth-straight Jayhawk Conference team title, winning the Jayhawk Championship, the third-and-final league designated tournament of the season, on Tuesday at Sand Creek Station.

Blue Dragon freshman Alex Lindstrom won his second league tournament on Tuesday and was crowned the 2023 Jayhawk Conference individual season champion, the fourth-straight season that honor has been claimed by a Blue Dragon.

No. 2 nationally ranked Hutchinson carded a 2-over 290 on Tuesday to win the tournament by 16 strokes over No. 3 Dodge City. The Conquistadors shot 286 in the final round on Tuesday.

Hutchinson won the team title with 24.5 team points, which were amassed over the season’s three league tournaments. The Blue Dragons tied Dodge City in the first league tournament and won Jayhawk No. 2 last week by 29 strokes.

The 2023 team championship is the 11th in Blue Dragon program history.

The Blue Dragons counted scores on Tuesday of 70 from Lindstrom, 73 from Dominic Clemons and Blake Saffell and 74 from Marco Anderson.

Lindstrom was battling Barton’s Worathan Thammachokecharoen for the individual title all day Tuesday, playing in the final group after the two players entered the final round tied for the tournament lead at 2-under par.

Thammachokecharoen led by one stroke through 11 holes. Lindstrom played the final seven holes in 2-under par, including three-straight birdies on Nos. 14, 15 and 16. Thammachokecharoen was 3-over par of the final seven holes.

Lindstrom joins Ben Partridge (2022), Partridge and Charlie Crocket (2021) and Crocket (2019) during this current run of Blue Dragon individual league champions (the 2020 season was wiped out because of the Coronavirus pandemic). Lindstrom is the 12th Blue Dragon player to win the KJCCC individual season title.

Lindstrom finished with a 2-under 70 on Tuesday and won the individual tournament title with his third-straight under-par round in the tournament, closing at 4-under 212. Lindstrom won the tournament by three strokes over Dodge City’s Supakit Seelanagae (215) and Thammachokecharoen (216).

Lindstrom won the season championship with 29 points. Saffell finished second in the season standings with 23.75 points and Clemons was fourth with 17 points. Lindstrom, Saffell and Clemons earned All-KJCCC first-team players. Anderson earned second-team all-league honors, placing ninth in the league standings with 11.75 points. Freshman Louis Galvin was an honorable mention player with four points and a 14th-place finish.

Four Blue Dragons placed in the tournament Top 10.

Clemons closed with a 1-over 73 on Tuesday to place fourth at 1-over 217.

Saffell tied for fifth at 3-over 219 after a 73 on Tuesday.

Anderson tied for ninth at 3-over 74 and shot a 54-hole total of 5-over 221.

Galvin shot a 75 on Tuesday and tied for 20th at 231.

Individual player Kalle Svederman shot a 74 on Tuesday and placed 19th in the tournament at 230. Brooks Sauder shot 86 on Tuesday and closed the tournament tied for 39th at 244.

The Blue Dragons will next play at the Central District/Region VI Tournament at Crestview Country Club North on Monday and Tuesday in Wichita.


Final Team Standings
1. Hutchinson – 27.5
2. Dodge City – 25
3. Garden City – 19.5
4. Barton – 18.5
5. Hesston College – 11
6. Kansas City – 10.5
7. Fort Scott – 8.5
8. Coffeyville – 3.5

Final Individual Standings
1. Alex Lindstrom, Hutchinson – 29 (1st-Team All-KJCCC)
2. Blake Saffell, Hutchinson – 23.75 (1st-Team All-KJCCC)
3. Supakit Seelanagae, Dodge City – 19.5 (1st-Team All-KJCCC)
4. Dominic Clemons, Hutchinson – 17 (1st-Team All-KJCCC)
5. Arthit Kruagrayong, Dodge City – 16.75 (1st-Team All-KJCCC)
6. Luka Stanisavljevic, Dodge City – 14.25 (2nd-Team All-KJCCC)
T7. Than Suwannapratheep, Dodge City – 12 (2nd-Team All-KJCCC)
T7. Worathan Thammachokecharoen, Barton – 12 (2nd-Team All-KJCCC)
9. Marco Anderson, Hutchinson – 11.75 (2nd-Team All-KJCCC)
10. Anthony DeSchutter, Garden City – 10.75 (2nd-Team All-KJCCC)
11. Braden Smith, Coffeyville – 9.75 (Honorable Mention All-KJCCC)
12. Joshua Balson-Scales – 8.5 (Honorable Mention All-KJCCC)
13. Brent Rentjes, Dodge City – 7.5 (Honorable Mention All-KJCCC)
14. Louis Galvin, Hutchinson – 4 (Honorable Mention All-KJCCC)
15. Josh Killingsworth, Kansas City – 1 (Honorable Mention All-KJCCC)