Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Clemons Named to Prestigious Ben Hogan Watch List


By Hutchinson CC Sports Information


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – Hutchinson Community College men’s golf first-team All-American Dominic Clemons was selected to be a part of college golf’s elite golfers on Friday when he was named to the Ben Hogan Award watch list.

Clemons was one of 37 collegiate golfers from all levels – NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA – named to the initial watch list. The field will be trimmed down to a semifinal group of 10 on April 14. The final three golfers will be named May 4 with the 2023 winner being announced on May 22 at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Clemons, a sophomore from Cambridge, England, is the only NJCAA player named to the Ben Hogan Watch list.

The Blue Dragon sophomore earned first-team All-America honors after tying for the 2022 individual championship at Odessa Country Club. Leading the Blue Dragons to their second-straight team national championship, Clemons lost a two-hole playoff for the individual national title.

Clemons is currently the No. 1-ranked golfer in the NJCAA, according to The Blue Dragon sophomore has a stroke average of 71.59.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s collegiate golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months.

Clemons has committed to Stetson University for next season.

The Blue Dragons open their 2023 spring season on March 13-14 at the Lindenwood University Invitational in St. Charles, Missouri.

The 2023 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank. Friday’s joint announcement of the watch list was made by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

2023 Ben Hogan Award Watch List Candidates
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech, Senior
Leon Acikalin, Arizona Christian, Senior
Cole Anderson, Florida State, Junior
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M, Senior
Fred Biondi, Florida, Senior
Ryan Burnett, North Carolina, Senior
Dominic Clemons, Hutchinson Community College, Sophomore
Charles DeLong, Grand Valley State, Sophomore
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois, Senior
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas, Senior
David Ford, North Carolina, Sophomore
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida, Junior
Austin Greaser, North Carolina, Senior
Derek Hitchner, Pepperdine, Senior
Ben James, Virginia, Freshman
Connor Jones, Colorado State, Senior
Tommy Kuhl, Illinois, Senior
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, Junior
Bryce Lewis, Tennessee, Junior
Yuxin Lin, Florida, Senior
Christiaan Maas, Texas, Freshman
Dylan Menante, North Carolina, Senior
Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State, Junior
William Mouw, Pepperdine, Senior
Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen, Oklahoma State, Senior
Greg Odom, Howard, Senior
Alex Price, Christopher Newport, Senior
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt, Sophomore
Calum Scott, Texas Tech, Sophomore
Herman Sekne, Purdue, Junior
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt, Junior
Garrison Smith, New Mexico State, Senior
Ross Steelman, Georgia Tech, Senior
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State, Sophomore
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee, Freshman
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, Sophomore
Travis Vick, Texas, Senior