Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Bullpup Boys Tennis Wins Regionals, Multiple Qualify for State


McPHERSON, Kan. – The McPherson High School Boys Tennis team overcame adversity all season long with injuries and poor weather conditions, but shined Friday, May 3 when it mattered most in Regionals.

Junior Pau Gonzales took home the top spot in the Singles tournament, going 3-0 in the tournament and defeating Cale Tromp of Clay Center in the 1st place game in two sets (6-0, 6-1). Senior Hunter Mendez fell to Tromp in three sets in the semi-finals, but won in the third place game in two sets (6-1, 6-3).

Juniors Alex Berger and Bryson Archer also took the top spot in the Doubles tournament, winning the final match in two sets (6-1, 6-2). Juniors Charles Krug and Owen Neighbors finished 4th in the tournament, qualifying them for the State Tournament in Topeka.

“This team was hit with all kinds of adversity throughout the season and somehow they just found their way to bring home another Regional Championship,” head coach Tyler Brown said. “We had worry for multiple players coming off the injury list to be eligible to play and boy were they ready.”

“Huge thank you has to go out to Coach Sanchez as well,” Brown added. “This guy brings passion and love to the game of tennis like very few!  He is one of a kind and we are blessed to have him on our team!  At the end of the day I am just taken back how our team competed [Friday] and overcame so much to bring home a Regional Championship!”

The qualifiers will head to Topeka’s Kossover Tennis Center for State on May 10-11.

Team Results:

  1. McPherson (23)
  2. Clay Center (21)
  3. El Dorado (8)
  4. Chapman (3)
  5. Concordia (3)
  6. Abilene (0)


State Qualifiers:


  1. Pau Gonzalez (McPherson)
  2. Cale Tromp (Clay Center)
  3. Hunter Mendez (McPherson)
  4. Eli Pfizenmaier (Clay Center)
  5. Ian Wooldridge (Chapman)
  6. Payton Wade (El Dorado)



  1. Alex Berger & Bryson Archer (McPherson)
  2. John Alton & Paige Pfizenmaier (Clay Center)
  3. Brooks Craig & Anthony Davies (Clay Center)
  4. Charles Krug & Owen Neighbors (McPherson)
  5. Naman Bhatt & Reece Knight (El Dorado)
  6. Lane Eck & Theron Mays (El Dorado)


CLICK HERE to view the full results.