Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

Bulldogs Sweep Southwestern to Eighth Straight KCAC Tournament Championship


TOPEKA, Kan. — For the eighth consecutive time, the McPherson College men’s tennis squad took home the crown, knocking off second-seeded Southwestern College 4-0 to win the KCAC Tournament in Topeka, Kan.

In addition to their eighth straight title, the Bulldogs ran their conference winning streak to 44 consecutive matches (including postseason) dating back to March of 2019.

“There is a lot of pressure when it comes to continuing a streak, and these guys handled it very well!” head coach Keiran President said. “They showed a lot of grit, and we couldn’t be happier. Can’t wait to see how they compete at nationals!”

The Bulldogs made quick work of the doubles point, with Michael Beltran and Martin Millos grabbing a 6-0 win before Daniel Marcano and Celien Botlan put McPherson on top with a 6-3 win.

That win helped the Bulldogs build momentum leading to a 6-0, 6-0 sweep by Arthur Nardy. Millos (6-1, 6-3) and Oscar Brouwer (6-3, 6-4) wrapped it up with a pair of wins in straight sets in the #3 and #4 spots, respectively.

“We have a great group of guys who all contributed to our success this season,” President said. “It was a long and tough regular season, filled with big wins both individually and collectively as well as the tough losses. But I’m happy with how they all competed and handled things throughout this season.”

Full Results


1. Beltran/Millos (MC) def. Kitchin/Rodriguez (SC) — 6-0

2. Murphy/Brouwer (MC) vs. Engela/Erdmann (SC) — 4-3 UNF

3. Marcano/Botlan (MC) def. Poi/Modol (SC) — 6-3


1. Michael Beltran (MC) vs. Federico Poi (SC) — 6-2, 5-3 UNF

2. Marcus Nardy (MC) vs. Ryan Kitchin (SC) — 2-6, 6-3 UNF

3. Martin Millos (MC) def. Pablo Rodriguez (SC) — 6-1, 6-3

4. Oscar Brouwer (MC) def. Albert Modol (SC) — 6-3, 6-4

5. Celien Botlan (MC) vs. Benjamin Erdmann (SC) — 1-6, 6-2, 0-1 UNF

6. Arthur Nardy (MC) def. Logan Engela (SC) — 6-0, 6-0

Up Next

The Bulldogs will advance to the NAIA National Tournament in Mobile, Ala. starting May 16. The bracket will be revealed next week.