Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

2022-23 KCAC Women’s Basketball All-Conference Selections Announced


WICHITA, Kan. — The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2022-23 KCAC Women’s Basketball all-conference teams and award winners. Student-athletes were selected for all awards by vote of the KCAC head women’s basketball coaches.

Sterling College took the regular-season conference title after going 21-1 in KCAC play, as part of a 24-4 overall record. The Warriors won four of the conference’s five individual awards for women’s basketball.

Taya Wilson, a senior forward for the Warriors, was named the KCAC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year after ranking fourth in the conference in points per game (14.6), third in rebounds per game (9.1), tied for second in steals per game (2.1), and sixth in blocks per game (1.0), all while only playing 25.9 minutes per contest.

Karsen Schultz of Sterling was named the conference’s Women’s Basketball Newcomer of the Year. Schultz led the KCAC in points per game (17.1) while shooting 51% from the field, 40% from three-point range, and 88.3% from the free-throw line. Schultz also ranked fifth in the conference in assists per game (2.9), tied for second in steals per game (2.1), and ranked seventh in rebounds per game (7.1).

The Warriors’ Kali Briar was named the KCAC Women’s Basketball Freshman of the Year, following a season in which she averaged 6.7 points per game, 2.9 rebounds per game, and 2.5 assists per game. Sterling’s women’s basketball head coach K.C. Bassett was named the Coach of the Year by her peers.

Kylie Dunn of Bethany College broke up the Sterling sweep of the women’s basketball individual awards by taking home the conference’s Women’s Basketball Defensive Player of the Year honor. Dunn was the leader of a Swedes defense that had the top defensive efficiency in conference play at .732.


The following athletes were selected by conference women’s basketball coaches as All-KCAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team, Honorable Mention, Defensive Team, and Freshman Team.

Statistics and rankings can be found at the following links:


Taya Wilson (U)@Sterling CollegeSr.FSterling, Kan.
Karsen Schultz (U)# Sterling CollegeSr.GAlma, Kan.
Emily Weathers (U)Bethany CollegeJr.FScott City, Kan.
Nicole Brown (U)Ottawa UniversitySr.CMadison, S.D.
Zoe Rust (U)Tabor CollegeSr.FGore, Okla.



Bailey Albright (U)Sterling CollegeSr.GKingman, Kan.
LaMyah Ricks (U)Kansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.GShawnee Mission, Kan.
Cierra Brown (U)Ottawa UniversitySr.GPowder Springs, Ga.
R’Manie Pulling (U)Bethany CollegeJr.GDenver, Colo.
Alanis Delgado (U)University of Saint MarySo.GSuprise, Ariz.



Taylor Jackson (U)Friends UniversitySo.FHouston, Texas
Dy’Mond McelrathMcPherson CollegeGrad.GWichita, Kan.
Teegan WerthTabor CollegeSo.GHillsboro, Kan.
Tylieea WallaceKansas Wesleyan UniversitySo.FOverland Park, Kan.
Autumn GarrettBethany CollegeSr.GTunas, Mo.



Caila HillKansas Wesleyan UniversitySr.FRossville, Kan.
Jerrica JohnsonUniversity of Saint MarySr.GDallas, Texas
Bethany StuckySterling CollegeSr.FMoundridge, Kan.
Sydnee SchovanecOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.FBixby, Okla.
Tanea SimsUniversity of Saint MaryJr.FHouston, Texas
Kassidy BeamTabor CollegeSo.GMcPherson, Kan.
Imani HoneyYork UniversityJr.GHot Springs, Ark.
Sarah ReinerBethany CollegeJr.CHighlands Ranch, Colo.
Hannah SmithAvila UniversitySo.GBlue Springs, Mo.
Kisa UnruhBethany CollegeSo.GDodge City, Kan.
Paige PendleyUniversity of Saint MarySr.FElgin, Okla.
Zariah TillmanOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySo.GRichardson, Texas
Jasmine PeeteBethel CollegeSr.CRiverside, Calif.
McKenzie ShippyFriends UniversitySr.FHerrington, Kan.
Madie McCoyTabor CollegeJr.G/FWellsville, Kan.



Kylie Dunn (D)Bethany CollegeSo.GKansas City, Kan.
Taya Wilson @Sterling CollegeSr.FSterling, Kan.
Taylor JacksonFriends UniversitySo.FHouston, Texas
Teegan WerthTabor CollegeSo.GHillsboro, Kan.
LaMyah RicksKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.GShawnee Mission, Kan.
Alex SpechtUniversity of Saint MarySr.CRantoul, Ill.



Kali Briar (F)Sterling CollegeFr.GSterling, Kan.
Caryn YoderBethel CollegeFr.GHesston, Kan.
Macey PondSouthwestern CollegeFr.GSouth Haven, Kan.
Megan MaresYork UniversityFr.FDeluth, Ga.
Gillian RodgersMcPherson CollegeFr.GJustin, Texas
Kylie ArnoldTabor CollegeFr.GSalina, Kan.


(U)= Unanimous Selection

@= Selected “Player of the Year.”

# = Selected “Newcomer of the Year.”

(F)= Selected “Freshman of the Year.”

(D) = Selected “Defensive Player of the Year.”