Ad Astra Radio Family Brands

2022-23 KCAC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Selections Announced


WICHITA, Kan. — The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2022-23 KCAC Men’s Basketball all-conference teams and award winners. Student-athletes were selected for all awards by vote of the KCAC head men’s basketball coaches.

Oklahoma Wesleyan won the regular-season conference championship with a 20-2 mark in conference play, which was part of a 25-3 overall record. The Eagles’ Jaden Lietzke was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, after leading the conference in field goal percentage (70.3%), ranking sixth in the conference in points per game (15.4), fifth in total rebounds per game (7.6), and third in blocks per game (1.5). His teammate, Derrick Talton, Jr., was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Defensive Player of the Year after ranking second in the conference in steals per game (2.8).

Justin Brookens of Bethany College was named the conference’s Newcomer of the Year. He ranked third in the KCAC in points per game (18.3), third in steals per game (2.3), and fourth in assists per game (3.3). Carmelo Yakubu of Bethel College was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Freshman of the Year. Yakubu averaged 10.3 points per game, 5.4 rebounds per game, and 1.7 assists per game.

Anthony Monson, the head coach at Kansas Wesleyan University, was named the conference’s Coach of the Year by his peers.


The following athletes were selected by the conference men’s basketball coaches as All-KCAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team, Honorable Mention, Defensive Team, and Freshman Team.

Statistics and rankings can be found at the following links:


Jaden Lietzke (U)@Oklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySo.F/COwasso, Okla.
Cevin Clark (U)Southwestern CollegeJr.GArkansas City, Kan.
Alex Littlejohn (U)Kansas Wesleyan UniversitySo.FNewton, Kan.
Solomon Clayton (U) Bethany CollegeSr.FFort Dodge, Iowa
Clifford Byrd II (U)Bethel CollegeGrad.GMemphis, Texas



Brent Clark (U)York UniversitySr.GDallas, Texas
Andrew O’Brien (U)Southwestern CollegeJr.FHalstead, Kan.
Jun Murdock (U)Kansas Wesleyan UniversitySr.GWichita, Kan
Kaleb Stokes (U)Oklahoma Wesleyan UniversityJr.FTulsa, Okla.
Justin Brookens (U)# Bethany CollegeSr.GMilwaukee, Wis.



Derrick Talton Jr. (U)(D) Oklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySo.GFort Worth, Texas
Cedric RollersonSterling CollegeJr.GOklahoma City, Okla.
Deng BolSouthwestern CollegeSr.GKansas City, Mo.
Bryant MocabyBethel CollegeJr.GGoddard, Kan.
Deondre BuggageOttawa UniversitySo.GGray, La.



Brandon BirdOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.G/FDenton, Texas
Deshaud St. MartinUniversity of Saint MarySr.FDanville, Ky.
Derrian ReedSterling CollegeJr.GColorado Springs, Colo.
Donte’ SimpsonAvila UniversitySr.GUnion City, Tenn.
Dylan SmithBethany CollegeSo.GStillwater, Okla.
Thatcher McClureTabor CollegeJr.FMcKinney, Texas
Ty BlandOttawa UniversitySr.FAuburn Hills, Mich.
Easton HunterKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.FColwich, Kan.
Much BielYork UniversityJr.FGrand Island, Neb.
Owen BraxmeyerMcPherson CollegeSo.GManhattan, Kan.
Carmelo Yakubu (F) Bethel CollegeFr.GHouston, Texas
Tim BarbieriFriends UniversityJr.FAbilene, Kan.
Cooper PierceSouthwestern CollegeSr.G/FArkansas City, Kan.
Antonio WatsonMcPherson CollegeSo.GMidwest City, Okla.
Dylan PhillipOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySo.G/FHumble, Texas



Derrick Talton Jr. (D) Oklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySo.GFort Worth, Texas
Clifford Byrd IIBethel CollegeJr.GMemphis, Texas
Deng BolSouthwestern CollegeJr.GKansas City, Mo.
Jun MurdockKansas Wesleyan UniversitySr.GWichita, Kan.
Solomon ClaytonBethany CollegeFr.FFort Dodge, Iowa



Carmelo Yakubu (F) Bethel CollegeFr.GHouston, Texas
Thatcher McClureTabor CollegeFr.FMcKinney, Texas
Al EmerllahuFriends UniversityFr.GSan Antonio, Texas
Christian WilliamsFriends UniversityFr.FWichita, Kan.
Zach HidalgoSouthwestern CollegeFr.GHooker, Okla.


(U) = Unanimous Selection

@= Selected “Player of the Year.”

# = Selected “Newcomer of the Year.”

(F)= Selected “Freshman of the Year.”

(D) = Selected “Defensive Player of the Year.”