Hit Radio KSKU 95.9 HK FM Mix 96.7 KMPK 98.9 KMCP 100.5 KNZS Rocks 106 Kicks Country KXKUHutch Daily Mac Daily Rice Daily

McPherson USD 418 BOE Elects President for 2022-23 School Year

By Lucky Kidd

McPherson, Kan. – On a 4-3 vote on Monday, the McPherson USD 418 Board of Education elected Ann Elliott as president for the 2022-23 school year. Her election came after the board voted down on a like-vote nomination of Lara Vanderhoof. Members Emily Green, Dan Lichty, and Jeff Johnson voted for Elliott with members Brian Meek and Brooke Kanitz supporting Vanderhoof. Johnson, who has been serving as president, was elected vice-president on a 4-3 vote, with Kanitz, Meek, and Vanderhoof voting no.

As part of the annual reorganization Monday, the Board approved multiple annual designations and appointments including a contract with Board attorney Brian Bina and the designation of official depositories and publications.

New Positions

A request to add an additional middle school cheer coach was approved. Activities Director Shane Backhus said this would address safety concerns in the program, the only one at the middle school that has just one responsible staff member.

The additional coach will enable cheerleading to be offered for both 7th and 8th-grade participants and to cheer at events other than 8th-grade boys contests as now. The cost of the additional position would come to just over $1150 a year.

The Board also approved proceeding with a school resource officer program at McPherson Middle School. This will be under an agreement with the McPherson Police Department.

Class Fees

Class fees for McPherson High School and McPherson Middle School for the 2022-23 school year were approved. Most fees will remain the same at MHS, except fees for auto tech welding and robotics classes and for the yearbook, with new fees added for three classes. MMS fees will remain unchanged. Textbook rental fees also will remain unchanged for next year.