Hit Radio KSKU 95.9 HK FM Mix 96.7 KMPK 98.9 KMCP 100.5 KNZS Rocks 106 Kicks Country KXKUHutch Daily Mac Daily Rice Daily

Kedzior, Dallas Earn Top KJCCC Honors

By Hutchinson CC Sports Information


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – The 2022 Jayhawk Conference champion Hutchinson Community College Football team had a total of 30 players on this year’s All-KJCCC Football teams, which were released on Thursday.

The Blue Dragons had 14 first-team, four second-team and 12 honorable mention selections, including winners of two of the three major awards presented each season.

For the second time in three seasons, Blue Dragon head coach Drew Dallas was named the KJCCC Coach of the Year. Sophomore running back Dylan Kedzior became the second-straight Hutchinson running back to earn KJCCC Offensive Player of the Year honors. Coffeyville safety Bishop Fitzgerald was named the league’s 2022 Defensive Player of the Year.

After a slow start to the season because of injury, Kedzior came to the rescue for the Blue Dragons at Coffeyville on September 24.

With Hutchinson trailing 9-7 in the fourth quarter, Kedzior entered the game early in the final quarter and had 12 carries for 85 yards and a 3-yard touchdown go-ahead touchdown run with 1:17 remaining to lead the Dragons to a 14-9 win.

That was the launching pad for the third-year 6-foot, 220-pound sophomore from Claremore, Oklahoma.

One week later, Kedzior rushed for a career-high 230 yards and three touchdowns against Butler. Starting with the final quarter against Coffeyville, Kedzior produced 578 yards and six touchdowns over a 13-quarter stretch.

For the season, Kedzior rushed for a league-best 923 yards on 119 carries with nine touchdowns. He is averaging a league-best 7.76 yards per carry.

In Hutchinson’s come-from-behind 29-28 season-finale win over No. 4 Iowa Western Kedzior had 212 total yards with 136 rushing yards and 76 receiving yards with a 70-yard touchdown run and 76-yard touchdown reception.

Kedzior is the second-straight Dragon to win Offensive Player of the Year honors, joining Anwar Lewis last season.

The third-year head coach of the Blue Dragons earned his second league Coach of the Year award after running the table in the regular season with a 6-0 league mark and a 10-0 overall record which leads Hutchinson into the postseason as the No. 1 team in the NJCAA.

The Blue Dragons won their third-straight KJCCC championship in a row under Dallas, winning the 2020/21 league title, the 2021 KJCCC Playoff championship and this season’s regular-season crown.

The Blue Dragons are currently on a 16-game winning streak and Dallas is off to a 27-2 start at Hutchinson.

The 2022 Blue Dragons ranked first in the Jayhawk Conference in scoring (40.9 ppg), total offense (427.3 ypg) and rushing (194.1 yards per game) and was third in passing (233.2 yards per game).

Defensively, the 2022 Blue Dragons were first in the KJCCC in scoring defense (11.9 ppg) and rushing defense (88.8 ypg), second in total defense (265.0 ypg) and third in pass defense (176.2 ypg). The Dragons were second in quarterback sacks (31) and tied for first with 28 takeaways.

The Blue Dragons had a staggering eight selections on the first team of the all-KJCCC team.

Quarterback Dylan Laible earned his second first-team selection. Laible is completing 57.4 percent of his passes for 1,996 yards with 20 touchdowns. Laible is now the Blue Dragons’ career passing yards and touchdown pass leader.

In addition to Kedzior, two other Blue Dragon skilled position players earned first-team honors.

Receiver Malik Benson is now a two-time first-team selection after team highs of 47 receptions for 809 yards and eight touchdowns. Micah Woods also earned first-team honors after making 26 catches for 435 yards and five touchdowns.

Fullback/H-Back Jamauri Chislom is a rare three-time first-team All-Conference player. Known mostly for his blocking, Chislom had a career-high four catches for 29 yards in 2022.

Three offensive linemen – sophomore center J’onre Reed, freshman tackle Larry Johnson and freshman guard Dez’Mond Schuster – all earned first-team honors.

The Blue Dragons placed five players on the first-team of the All-Jayhawk Defense this season.

Jerrell Boykins Jr. and JaKobe Schofield are both defensive tackles who earned first-team honors. Boykins had 17 total tackles, including 1.5 tackles for loss, two quarterback hurries and a fumble recovery. Schofield had 16 tackles with 1.5 quarterback sacks, a pass broken up and a fumble recovery.

Defensive end Nikki Taylor was third in the KJCCC in quarterback sacks with seven. Taylor had 40 total tackles with 15 tackles for loss, five quarterback hurries and a safety.

Linebacker Terry Kirksey is Hutchinson’s leading tackler with 68 total tackles, including 28 solo stops. Kirksey had six tackles for loss, 2.5 quarterback sack and a fumble recovery.

Freshman cornerback Ja’Maric Morris is the second first-team secondary member. Morris had 30 tackles and was fourth in the KJCCC in interceptions with four. Morris also had six passes defended.

Freshman kicker Cole Segraves is the final first-team selection. Segraves has had a tremendous season, going 48 of 49 on extra points and 13 of 18 on field goals. Segraves has made his last six attempts.

Segraves has a long of 46 and has made three of at least 40 yards this season. Segraves’ 13 field goals are second-most in single-season program history.

He kicked the overtime game winner in a 31-28 victory over No. 7 Iowa Central on Sept. 10 at Gowans Stadium.

Four Blue Dragons earned second-team all-conference honors.

Offensive linemen Chris Morris and Izaya Vimahi were second-team offensive selections. Defensive end Rodney Green Jr. and punter Trevor Whiteman were also named second-team selections.

Green had 12.5 tackles for loss, including six quarterback sacks. Green had 37 total tackles.

Whiteman averaged 37.8 yards per punt on 45 attempts. He had six punts of 50-plus yards and 10 land inside the 20-yard line.

Three offensive players earned honorable mention honors – receiver Marcello Bussey and tight ends Sloan Hayden and Tyce Hoover.

Defensive end Walter Bob Jr., linebacker Ja’Mez Drummer, linebacker R.J. Evans, cornerback Terrente Hinton, safety Jaden Mosley, cornerback Jaymar Mundy, defensive tackle Danny Saili and safety Javar Strong were named honorable mention defensive players.

Return specialist Darby Roper also was named to the honorable mention list.